Author - Chantal Gingras

August 2017

Rising interest rates

Will rising interest rates lead to more bankruptcies?

The policy interest rate increase posted by the Bank of Canada generated a lot of talk last month. Unsurprising, since it was the first increase in nearly seven years. For a few days, it seemed everyone was holding their breath! Are Canadians in a strong enough position to absorb this increase? Will rising interest rates push people to declare bankruptcy? (more…)

July 2017

power-of-attorney-dealing-with-parents-debts

Can power of attorney help you manage your parents’ debts?

When a person struggles to manage their finances, someone else may obtain power of attorney to assist them or to manage their finances for them. This may be the case for an older person who, even though they are still lucid, are unable to manage their budget. When that person has children, power of attorney is generally granted to one of them, provided they are at least 18 years of age. (more…)

May 2017

Which solution to pick

Choosing the right solution for you: consumer proposals vs. bankruptcy

If you are deep in debt, you are probably looking for a solution to solve your financial troubles. But how do you choose between a consumer proposal and bankruptcy? The role of the Licensed Insolvency Trustee Let’s start by making one thing clear: consumer proposals and bankruptcy are two legitimate solutions to solve debt problems. Choosing between these solutions is a personal decision that falls to the debtor. But to make an informed decision, debtors can rely on Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT). The LIT’s job is to assess debtor’s financial situation. They must then fully inform the debtor about each processand their benefits, and the differences between them. The LIT cannot impose the solution of their choice. The debtor must always make [...]

February 2017

Personal-finances-free-online-tools

5 free online tools to improve your personal finances

Maintaining or improving your financial health can be an enormous challenge. Fortunately, several online tools are available to help you expand your knowledge on your personal finances and repay your debts, among other things. Simple and easily accessible, these tools can be a first step towards a healthier financial situation. That being said, remember that the advice of an insolvency professional is your best option if your debts are very high and your financial situation is precarious. (more…)

October 2016

loan-repay-consumer-proposal

Is it a good idea to take out a bank loan to repay your consumer proposal?

Recovering financial health is often the main concern of people who must repay a consumer debt proposal. This is why some people consider taking out a loan to pay it off more quickly. But is this solution actually advantageous? (more…)

August 2016

Licensed insolvency trustee

Licensed Insolvency Trustee

Are you familiar with the term “Licensed Insolvency Trustee” (LIT)? This new name designates what used to be called a “Trustee in Bankruptcy” or, in French “Syndic de faillite.” The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy Canada (OSB) decided to apply this change, beginning on April 1, 2016. We believe the new designation more accurately reflects the role of LITs following the evolution of the industry. Here are some reasons for this change regarding insolvency. Why is Ginsberg Gingras happy with the change to the Trustee in Bankruptcy title? The term “Licensed Insolvency Trustee” is more general and inclusive. Since an LIT’s role is not limited to bankruptcy, our professional title should appropriately reflect the work we do. Additionally, a more [...]

May 2016

consequences bankruptcy

The Consequences of Bankruptcy on Hydroelectricity and Other Services

Bankruptcy puts an end to many debts. But what becomes of your financial health after bankruptcy? Maybe you want to get out of debt but you’d like to learn more about the positive and negative impacts of your decision. In this case, here is what you should know about some of the consequences after filing for bankruptcy. (more…)

February 2016

planning christmas

Planning Ahead For Christmas 2016: 4 Tips To Avoid Financial Stress

Did Christmas break the bank this year? Did you swear to never again get stuck doing things at the last minute? Planning Christmas in advance not only saves you money, but also reduces stress. Here are four tips to help you get started on planning for Christmas today. (more…)

December 2015

11 ways to resist christmas consumerism

11 Ways to Resist Christmas Consumerism

The spirit of Christmas is embodied in values like family, love, friendship and sharing. With a bit of time and good planning, it’s possible to have a memorable Christmas without spending a lot of money. Resorting to consumerism doesn’t guarantee happiness. It’s a good idea to avoid this trap if possible, because once you step foot in it, it can be difficult to get out. (more…)

Auteur - Chantal Gingras

août 2017

Hausse des taux d'intérêt

La hausse des taux d’intérêt entraînera-t-elle plus de faillites?

La hausse du taux d’intérêt directeur par la Banque du Canada (BdC) a beaucoup fait jaser le mois dernier. Pour cause puisqu’il s’agissait d’une première hausse en près de 7 ans. Pendant quelques jours, on aurait dit que tout le monde retenait son souffle! Est-ce que les Canadiens et Canadiennes ont les reins assez solides pour absorber cette hausse? La hausse des taux d’intérêts poussera-t-elle plusieurs personnes à déclarer faillite? (suite…)

juillet 2017

procuration-gérer-dettes-parents

Une procuration peut-elle vous permettre de gérer les dettes de vos parents?

Lorsqu’une personne a du mal à gérer ses finances, quelqu’un peut obtenir une procuration pour le faire à sa place ou lui porter assistance. Ce peut être le cas d’un individu âgé qui, même s’il est toujours lucide, n’arrive plus à tenir son budget. Lorsque la personne a des enfants, la procuration est généralement accordée à l’un de ceux-ci, pourvu qu’il ait plus de 18 ans. (suite…)

mai 2017

Proposition consommateur

Quelle solution choisir : Proposition de consommateur ou faillite ?

Si vous êtes surendetté, vous cherchez peut-être une solution pour régler vos ennuis financiers. Mais comment faire un choix entre la proposition de consommateur et la faillite? Le rôle du syndic autorisé en insolvabilité Commençons par mettre une chose au clair : la proposition de consommateur et la faillite sont deux solutions légitimes pour régler des problèmes de dettes. Choisir l’une ou l’autre est une décision personnelle qui revient aux débiteurs. Mais pour prendre une décision éclairée, les débiteurs peuvent compter sur les syndics autorisés en insolvabilité (SAI). Le rôle du SAI consiste d’abord à évaluer la situation financière des débiteurs puis à bien les informer du processus à suivre dans les deux cas, des avantages de chacune des solutions et des différences [...]

février 2017

Outils gratuits pour finances personnelles

5 outils gratuit disponibles en ligne pour améliorer ses finances personnelles

Maintenir ou améliorer sa santé financière peut être un défi de taille. Heureusement, il existe plusieurs outils en ligne gratuits qui aident notamment à mieux connaître ses finances personnelles et à rembourser des dettes. Simples et très accessibles, ces outils peuvent représenter un premier pas vers une meilleure situation financière. Sachez toutefois que l’avis d’un professionnel en insolvabilité est de mise si vos dettes sont majeures et votre situation financière précaire. (suite…)

octobre 2016

pret-rembourser-proposition-de-consommateur

Est-il avantageux de prendre un prêt pour rembourser sa proposition de consommateur ?

Retrouver leur santé financière est souvent au cœur des préoccupations de ceux qui doivent rembourser une proposition de consommateur. C’est pourquoi certaines personnes envisagent de contracter un prêt pour l’acquitter plus rapidement. Mais cette solution est-elle réellement avantageuse? (suite…)

août 2016

Syndic autorisé en insolvabilité

Le syndic autorisé en insolvabilité

Connaissez-vous l’expression « syndic autorisé en insolvabilité » (SAI) et en anglais « Licenced Insolvency Trustee » (LIT)? Il s’agit du nouveau terme pour désigner ce qui était anciennement nommé  « syndic de faillite » ou en anglais « trustee in Bankruptcy ». En effet, le Bureau du surintendant des faillites Canada (BSF) a décidé d’appliquer ce changement à compter du 1er avril 2016. Pour nous, cette nouvelle dénomination reflète mieux le rôle du SAI à la suite de l’évolution de l’industrie. Voici les explications entourant ce changement dans le milieu de l’insolvabilité. Pourquoi Ginsberg Gingras est heureux de voir transformer le titre syndic de faillite? Le terme « syndic autorisé en insolvabilité » se veut plus général et inclusif. Le rôle [...]

mai 2016

Conséquences faillite

Les conséquences d’une faillite sur l’hydroélectricité et les autres services

Une faillite met fin à plusieurs dettes. Mais qu’advient-il de sa santé financière après celle-ci? Si vous envisagez de remédier à votre endettement et souhaitez en savoir plus sur les impacts positifs et négatifs qu’aura votre décision, voici ce que vous devez savoir sur les conséquences d’une faillite. (suite…)

mars 2016

saisie d'auto

6 façon d’éviter une saisie d’auto

Votre paiement de voiture était dû hier et vous l’avez manqué. Vous n’aviez pas fait votre paiement le mois dernier non plus. Peut-être que vous éprouvez des difficultés financières passagères. Peut-être que vous avez eu à composer avec une dépense imprévue. Peu importe la raison, vous craignez maintenant de recevoir la visite d’un huissier à tout moment. Vous voulez à tout prix éviter une saisie d’auto. Voici quelques conseils pour vous aider à conserver votre voiture. (suite…)

février 2016

planifier noël

Pensez à préparer Noël 2016 : 4 trucs pour éviter les problèmes financiers

Est-ce que Noël vous a coûté trop cher cette année? Vous vous êtes juré de ne plus vous faire prendre à la dernière minute? Préparer Noël à l’avance permet de faire des économies et de diminuer son stress. Voici donc 4 trucs pour préparer Noël dès maintenant. (suite…)